Okay, histrionics aside...since it seems I do, in fact, remember my LJ password I figured I'd vent a little and let you all know what the delay is about. A week ago my precious PC contracted a nasty case of sudden death syndrome. No symptoms, no warnings, no glitching, no BSODs...just one minute I was minding my business (working on the Beech update, actually) and the next I wasn't. Total shutdown, like a power outage, except nothing but my comp went out, and it wouldn't and won't start back up. Best guess is my power supply may no longer be up to snuff (though it, easily replaceable part that it is, is not completely dead) but it seems my motherboard was totally fried while the psu flailed about. I don't care about that as much as I might, I've been meaing to upgrade, but I rushed to order parts for my new build and not only have they not arrived yet, they haven't even shipped! I didn't spring for expedited shipping, which only too late am I questioning, because they usually deliver lightning fast regardless. Even if not, one week was a stretch but it wasn't going to kill me. This, however, is going into week 2...
Plus side: I don't think there's anything wrong with my hard drives so I'm not going to worry about that unless and until I know I have to. I fully expect to be back up and running if only they would just deliver my stuff! Downside: Once I've got my computer back (my preciousss and not this lousy laptop that I only use for backup net access so it's got No Stuffs) I'm going to be pretty damn busy playing catch up so I won't be able to even look at a sim for a while. Well, not unless I can get TS1 working on this old clunker but that'd just be to keep me amused while I wait. Widespot shenanigans, unfortunately, postponed a few more weeks :-(
I did manage to get about half of Round 3 played, though, and it was much fun, as always (and quite “dramatical”) so I'm itching to share. I'll get it done as soon as ever I can!
Plus side: I don't think there's anything wrong with my hard drives so I'm not going to worry about that unless and until I know I have to. I fully expect to be back up and running if only they would just deliver my stuff! Downside: Once I've got my computer back (my preciousss and not this lousy laptop that I only use for backup net access so it's got No Stuffs) I'm going to be pretty damn busy playing catch up so I won't be able to even look at a sim for a while. Well, not unless I can get TS1 working on this old clunker but that'd just be to keep me amused while I wait. Widespot shenanigans, unfortunately, postponed a few more weeks :-(
I did manage to get about half of Round 3 played, though, and it was much fun, as always (and quite “dramatical”) so I'm itching to share. I'll get it done as soon as ever I can!
6 comments | Leave a comment