12 June 2014 @ 09:57 pm
BaCC in Widespot: Round 2 - Mann  
Mann-_R2c




We're on Candy time here. Linear progression be damned.


C0-1
Wake up, fellow female.
There are games afoot.

C0-2
Oh shit. The baby. Where was it?

C0-3

C0-4
"D.D, he's not there. He's not down there..."

C0-5
"RICH!"


C0-6
"Rich!"


C0-7
"You bellowed, my sweet?"


C0-8
"I can't find the—he's—the baby—"

"Calm down, Candy. You're hysterical."

"What happened to the baby?"


C0-9
"The baby?"

"Yeah. Where is it?"

"It isn't here. Why, did you want it?"

C0-10
The fuck kinda question was that? But he actually stood there waiting for an answer.

"Want it? Yes."

"Come now, let's be honest, Candy. You did not want this baby."

But that was...that was so what! She got the baby anyway and she put up with a lot because of it
so hell yeah she meant to keep it. That's how the shit worked. What the hell was he even saying?

"Now I want him."

"I do wish you had told me."

"What did you, what did you do?"

"Don't you trust me?"

How fucking stupid did he think she was? Did it say stupid on her forehead? What the hell, maybe it did. To him. But she
wasn't walkin' into that trap. No way. He didn't want her to trust him! But he didn't want to hear out loud that she didn't.

"Baby."

"Yes?"

"What did you with the baby?"

"Ah. Nothing that can't be undone, my sweet. If you're certain he's better off with you. Are you?"


C1-0
That wasn't even the right question. But was her way to be a good mother letting him go to somebody better?
That she didn't know. And it wasn't Rich's fucking call. He set her up. And where the hell did he put her clothes!


C1-1
Tampering was Rich's forte. He couldn't help himself.

C1-2
But one turn too many and it all came crashing down.

Served him right.

C1-3
Dagnabbit!


C1-4
"What are you doing back here?"

I need some fucking pants, that's what. Only Lana's ugly shit here. Might cop that red dress...if I ever fucking go anywhere ever a-fucking-gain.

"Candy? Answer me."

Didn't she do that? "Jeans. You stole them." You steal everything.


C1-5

C1-6
"Ah, thank you for coming, thank you for coming. You look absolutely stunning, I must say. How long has it been? Here, let me take that for you."


C1-7
It was hard to say that she missed the baby but she resented the hell out of Rich's taking it.
She probably should've known that's what would happen. It musta been why he brought her here in the first place. But Candy was so sure
that he loved her! Despite the craziness—because of how crazy he got over her. And if he didn't really love her then, boy, was she in trouble.


C1-8

C1-9
"Come with me, please."

Ugh, what now?


C1-10
Candy spotted the broken glass on the floor. Oh, his clock! She thought she heard something fall.
Obviously, he wasn't worried 'bout what she might do. Or he was testing her. Candy flashed through the scenario in
her head but it didn't work. She didn't want her weapon turned against her and, all told, she didn't want to hurt him.


~ ~ ~


C2-0b
"What the hell do you mean 'wife'? Candy?"


C2-1
Valentine snatched up his bat again. "Hands off!"

"Now that's just nasty."

C2-2
"Who the hell asked you anyway?" she snapped at Rhett.

"Nobody gotta ask me," he mumbled, "I see what I see and say what I say."

"Shut it, both of you," Valentine said, but he was relieved to see Candy was still in there. She was startin' to scare him.
"Now, I ain't playing. You see this," he looked dead at Rich, "Somebody better tell me fast what the hell is really goin' on."

C2-3
Volatile Harts!

"Pop, could you just stop for a minute. Stop with the threats and everything. It's true. We're married."

"I call bull."

"Didn't I say it? I knew it'd be somethin' like this. Got people worryin' for nothin'. Drama queen."

"If all you did was get married why couldn't you tell nobody? Huh? Maybe you can answer that one for me, Rich."

"Pop! Look, I'm sorry for not tellin' you what was goin' on. But Lana woulda bled us dry if she knew."

"See!" Rhett couldn't help congratulating himself on his sagacity.

"Where have you been?"

Honeymoon? Honeymoon, yeah, that'll work. "We went away. I didn't want to have the baby without a whole lotta doctors
around and then after his divorce came through we got started on our honeymoon. The, um, the baby got sick so I stayed.

Well done, Candy Mann!
Rich made a show of excusing himself to leave her to her family. She had passed the final test.

C2-4
As soon as he turned his back she put up her dukes in imitation of her Pop and laughed.
"Still got it, slugger."


C2-5
"I can't believe you came over here, with a bat! And the bush league to back you up," she nodded at her brother, and screwed up her face
when she finally noticed what kinda weaponry he was workin' with, "and you were, like, really gonna take a swing at my husband with it."

"For the fences, Can. I said I wasn't playin'."

"Going, going, gone! It's funny now," she said, swinging an imaginary bat, "but that is so not
cool, Pop. Rich gets really touchy, like, really...I should go see if he needs some ice for his face."

"He ain't got no glass jaw so never mind him for a minute."

C2-6
It was easy to get caught up with her, actin' silly, like there was never nothing wrong.
He had missed his daughter. So much, more than he let on, but he had worried even more.

"Why didn't you call?"

"I'm sorry."

"Sorry ain't gonna cut it, Candy. What was wrong with you that you couldn't pick up the phone?"

"I didn't wanna worry you."

"And how was I supposed to not be worried not knowin' what happened to you? You think about that?"

"No," she admitted, "but it wasn't like that. It all happened so fast and then with the baby..."

"And where is my grandkid?" he asked, anxious because the way she kept dodging and her tone...that wasn't normal.

She pointed over his shoulder in the direction Rhett had started wandering off.


C2-7


~ ~ ~


C3-0
Candy didn't know why Rich led her to their old rendezvous room. She was so not in the mood.


C3-1
Who the fuck was this?

Did he have her up in here or down here, whatever, the whole time she was locked in that damn room?
Forget what she used to do in here with him while Lana was the clueless one, that was different. Lana was just stupid, she wasn't fucking locked
up and knocked up and shit by his kinky, controlling ass. Who the hell did this chick think she was, smiling at her like that, like she owned this?

Candy would so cut a bitch, she thought, remembering the broken glass on the floor.

C3-3
Until she noticed somebody already had.
Did...did Rich do that—no, no, she didn't wanna know.

But whoever she was, Candy was not with this.
"Who the hell is that, Rich?"

"She's someone I've asked to come specifically to make your acquaintance. Don't be rude, Candy."

Oh hell no. Candy was not into girl-on-girl. And even if she was gonna, just for the hell of it, it wouldn't
be today. No fucking way. She wasn't doin' that for him, even if she wanted to—which she didn't—not
after he fucking stole her baby. Did this, did this have somethin' to do with the baby? Did this chick...?

C3-4
Rich pushed her back a step and motioned for her to stay while he went and closed the drapes. Still paranoid.
But he wasn't the only one. Finding herself so completely closed off, alone in a room with them—not just him,
and he could be scary enough by himself sometimes—but with this strange woman...Candy was properly terrified.


C3-5
"Look at that face. You're going to give our guest the wrong impression," Rich said, "but I need you to cooperate. Can you do that for me?"

"I, I don't know, Rich."

C3-6
"I think I can handle this."

"What the—No, you damn sure can't. Look, I don't know what's goin' on here but—"

"I think perhaps if you excused yourself, Mr. Rich?"

C3-7
Before he left Rich whispered to Candy that she'd have a lot more fun if she got her head into the game and, at least, tried to trust him.

Nothing fucking doing.

"Now, Candy—"

"'Scuse me?"

"We don't really have a lot of room for formalities, as you can see..." she watched for the door to close behind Rich, "so let's get started."


C3-8
"Ah, my Doomsday, you clever kitty. You have a very cunning master, too."


C3-9
"I will require you to hold down the fort for a while and keep its secrets secure. Can I count on you?"

Meow.

"Very good. I know you won't let me down."


C3-10
Rich was going on a little trip.

C3-11
And his favourite girl left with him.

"You look perfect. She doesn't disappoint, that Peach."

"Yeah, I bet."

"After you," he said, opening the door to the limo for her. "Mind your head, dear."

"Ugh, I can't see shit without my glasses."


~


C4-0
It was easy to find fault with Rich but the Mann was full of surprises. That excitement of never knowing exactly what was gonna happen
next is what bound Candy to him. He knew the kinda things she liked and this was like role playing but on a stage, with an audience.

It kinda immediately relaxed her 'no woohoo today' rule. The limo was barely out of Widespot before she was all over him.

Candy didn't understand those chicks who tried to use woohoo like a weapon by withholding it, anyway.
Don't weapons need to be deployed, or whatever? Unless you just don't know what you're doing.


C4-1
They had switched cars and dismissed the driver and now they were in some boutique who-knew-where.
It wasn't Bigg City but Candy didn't even care. Rich promised to take her shopping and he said he always kept his promise.


C4-2
The VIP treatment was trés cool. She had herself a big glass of wine and checked out what Candy,
the blonde bombshell businesswoman, had goin' on. Not bad, she thought, flirting with her reflection
(while Rich harassed the shopgirl, he had very specific requests for re-fashioning Candy's look).


C4-3

C4-4

C4-5
Eww. They did not pay her enough for this!

On the other hand, that old man had already promised her a generous tip—a very generous tip—for closing the boutique floor to other customers
even though they had no appointment. If Ms. Executive Assistant or whoever the hell she was to him didn't mind taking one for the team
then this was none of her business. She went back to pulling outfits and discreetly left them on the chair for her to try, whenever they...finished.

*She kept rolling public woohoo wants and Rich was happy to oblige to keep her in a platinum state of mind.*

C4-6
Rich was busy selecting the type of lingerie he liked and blouses, skirts, and shoes. He didn't even stop at picking out her
'signature' scent but Candy had ideas of her own. "I like your pants," she said to the shopgirl, "do they have them here? In red?"

Candy got her way. She replaced practically everything Rich thought she should wear with outfits she and whats-er-name pulled together.
It was fun. And Rich sat back, sipping down a glass of wine like he was in his element watching her model what she liked.


C4-7
It was fun but the quiet moments, when she wasn't on, sneaked up on her.

C4-8
Rich was right on it.

"I know what you need. Sustenance. With style."


C5-0
"Good evening, sir and madam. Do you have a reservation?"

"Yes, I believe we do," Rich said.

C5-1
"Oh yes, of course, sir, of course. Right this way, please."

Filet mignon and champagne. Quite a lot of champagne. Candy kept asking for more.

C5-3
After the third or fourth glass, Candy suggested that it'd be such a rush to sneak out on the bill.
No one would be expecting that, not of the pair of them, and not in a place like this. "Whaddya say, Rich?"


C5-4
Ordinarily, he wouldn't stoop to anything so petty but such a spontaneous suggestion coming from her!
It seemed like the prelude to a very good night. "Be nonchalant," he said.

"Don't you worry about me. You worry about you, old man," she said, sticking out her tongue at him when she was sure no one was looking.

C5-5
"Ha ha! Sucker!" Candy yelled out as soon as the elevator door closed behind them.


C5-6
Their next stop was a jewelry store. But it wasn't a heist. Now that would have been thrilling with her on his arm!


C5-7
Ooh...

C5-8
...shiny!


C5-9
But Candy told Rich she wanted a ruby.

"Diamonds are traditional."

"But I look so much better in red, Richie."

C6-0
So rubies were a girl's best friend that day.
Rich did insist, however, that Candy get rid of the wig before they made their next stop.


C6-1
Palms were greased. Again.

C6-2
And there they were, standing before a justice of the peace.


C6-3
Rich needed her to look like herself when they made their vows.


C6-4

C6-5
"Have the bellhop take these bags up to my room. Is it ready?"

"Of course, Mr. Mann."

Candy took in the sights as he led her around.
"Welcome to The Flamingo, Candy. Do you like it?"

"It's pretty in pink," she told him.


C6-6
When they got to their room on the penthouse floor, she asked Rich, "You own all this? This whole casino?"

"We have an interest."

"Lana and Junior know about this...interest?"

"Certainly not."

"Lot they didn't know about you, huh?"

"Actually...yes," he said, "Naturally. Get yourself settled. Order room service, we have the best pastry chef on staff, he'll fix you up for dessert.
Just don't forget to leave me the cherry. I have a few things to check on but I'll be back soon and we can get started on our honeymoon."


C6-7
Candy decided to take a long hot bath first.

C6-8
Peeling away those layers she'd piled on today was such a relief...but now she didn't know who she was supposed to be.


C7-0
There was a knot in the pit of her stomach. Maybe she was just hungry?


C7-1
Candy picked up the phone for room service and for a second, for just a second, she almost called home.
She didn't know where the hell she was, like what town or nothin', but Pop would find a way to come get her.
She just couldn't do it.

"Did you bring up those bags?"

"Yes, ma'am."

So anybody could get in but she couldn't get out, she sure as hell couldn't just walk out. Rich had eyes on
the back of his head. Cameras probably and spies, no doubt. She was trapped. Again. Still. Whatever.

C7-2
Maybe she could lock him out? But these fucking hotel doors with their key cards!
Wasn't nothin' she could do with that. Think, Candy, think. And think fast!

C7-3
She was getting frantic. She started feeling around the walls just for anything and that's when she spotted the vent behind the safe.

C7-4
Who knew where the hell it led? People in movies were always crawlin' through vents to escape to someplace.
It was her only way out! She didn't have time to search through for clothes to put on, she had to act now. And who would
pass her up hitchhikin' with no clothes? All she had to do was get this damn grate off and get outta here, man! But she
couldn't pull it off with her bare hands. Ooh, might be a knife near her plate. She'll need a knife anyway, just in case.


C7-5
Holy fucking—why, why all the time, why!


C7-6
"Trying your hand at a little safe-cracking?" he teased, "A safe that's out in
the open, Candy? Come now, we don't keep the family jewels in there..."


C8-0
Candy escaped to the bathroom when Rich got all grabby.

He laughed at her bein' skittish. Like a virgin, on her wedding night, or some shit but
whatever to that, man. She had to get the hell outta there! But there wasn't no way out.

C8-1
There wasn't no way out. But she sure as hell wasn't goin' back to that room, back to that bed. Not tonight.
She didn't care what he did to her. She had been cooperative—she'd done that shit. She played along and said 'I do'
and everything and for a while, today, it was even fun but she was all played out. She couldn't do this no more.


C8-2
Rich got impatient. He wanted to know what was taking so long, she had not even taken the lingerie he picked out for her.
"Candy, what are you doing?" He tried the door but it was locked. "Open this door."

Candy resolutely shook her head.

"Open this door! Now, I say!"

But she didn't look up at him again.

C8-3

C8-4
The door stopped rattling and she jumped up to see that he was really walkin' away.
No way that was the end of it. He told her before, no locked door stood in the way between him and
what he wanted for long. This was what it came down to then, he'd have to do what he had to do.

C8-5
Candy eased down into the tub. He didn't come back but she couldn't stop watching and waiting. He never gave up.


C8-6
Rich was irked. One step forward and two steps back with that girl.
She was almost more trouble than she was worth. Almost. But Rich never gave up.

This certainly was not how he envisioned his wedding night!


C8-7b
Ditto.

~


C8-9
"Wake up, Candy."


C8-10
When she opened her eyes to Rich's face hovering over her, Candy jumped up to her feet.
How did he get in without her hearing it? She wasn't in that deep a sleep, this tub wasn't exactly comfy.
And now what? What was he gonna do with her?

"I'm sorry."

"Don't. And wipe that look off your face," he said, "It's morning. Get yourself dressed, we have an appointment."

"You, um, want me to wear the wig?"

"Don't you dare. You have a whole new wardrobe, Mrs. Mann, of primarily your own choosing. Put on whatever costume you need
to embody your new role. Just be sure you still look like the woman I married, Candy. There is a time and a place for games."


~ ~ ~


C9-0
"I'm just the mannequin, see. No need to really know nothing about me but the name's Peach. Not Peaches, Peach.
Just in case, y'know. Now, I don't know how we're gonna get all that hair up under the wig. But it's gotta be done..."

C9-1
"There. Every girl wasn't meant to go blonde...but I think you can pull it off. It's what he wants, anyway."

"And you always give him what he wants, huh?"

"You ain't got no cause worry about me, chickadee. I ain't no kinda threat to you. Don't you know that?"

"Hmph. You got a mirror?"

C9-2
"No, and ain't no time to get one. Soon as I step outta this room he's gonna grab you up and be ready to go." She looked
back over her shoulder at the door before she leaned down close to Candy. "Now you listen here, I've known that Mann years, ok."

"Wanna medal?"

"Shut up and listen to what I'm sayin', girl. He wants you. He wants you. Ok?
So you ride that shit. You ride that shit 'til it breaks, you hear what I'm sayin'?"

Candy was pretty sure that Peach, if that was her real name (like she was one to talk), was some kinda hooker. Escort, whatever,
somethin' like that. Least until somebody fucked up her face. So what she was sayin'...well, not like it was bad advice either way.


C9-3
"Is she ready?"

"Ready freddy. Little miffed about the glasses," she said, placing them tenderly into his hand with a wink.

"Well done, my dear."

"Always at your service, Mr. Rich."

"Come along, Candy," he raised his voice. No doubt that she was listening at the door. But if there was a chance that she was making
for a window, after all he'd done to set up this farce for her instead of sedating and fitting her into his old portmanteau—which was his first thought
for getting her out of Widespot unseen—then she wasn't going to be the only one who was miffed! Good thing that doorknob started turning.


C9-4
Peach had her orders. She stayed behind and tidied up while Mr. Rich took that ungrateful girl for the ride of her life.


~ ~ ~



C9-5
"No baby in here."

C9-6
"Candy. Candy, you can tell me. You can tell me anything. It's okay to say. Somethin' happen to your baby?"


~ ~ ~


C10-0
Ride or die, bitch. That's kinda what Peach told her, that's how she remembered it. And she wasn't wrong about Rich.
He always got what he wanted but she was what he wanted, and not just her body either. She bet Peach didn't count on
him slippin' a ring on her finger! That really meant something to him. Candy Mann was different from Candy Hart to him,
so she was definitely gonna ride that shit out, far as it took her. And this morning it took her here, to their 'appointment'.


C10-1

C10-2
"Good morning. So, are you the mother?"

Candy panicked. She didn't know what she was supposed to say to that.

"This is my wife, Mrs. Mann."

C10-3
"I see. Pleasure to meet you. Well, we've got a darling newborn boy upstairs. I understand that's what you're looking for.
You can head on up, if you like, my sister is in the playroom. She'll do the introductions and we can go from there."


C10-4
Candy saw the baby and went straight for him. Looked like him, had to be him. Wasn't no other one there. She swooped him up.

"Ain't he precious? And hardly no trouble at all that one. Girlie here has grown
very attached. She'll be sad to see him go when he does, won't you? Up you come, then."

Candy heard not one word.

"Miss!" The woman called out, "You can't just take him. Miss!"
She followed Candy down the first flight of stairs, yelling after her. Candy didn't look back.
"Miss! Come back here! Wait! Oh, there you are, here, take Girlie. I'll go get her," the woman said to her sister.

"Leave her," Rich commanded. "We'll take it."


*Like that gift wrapped, sir? No? Very well. Thank you for shopping at Foundlings Inc.*


C10-5
"Well? You've got him, what now?"

"Where's the car?"

"Around the corner, where we left it."

C10-6
"Oh, yeah. Here. Hold him for a minute."

"Candy, what are you doing?" he asked as she dumped the menace into his arms.
So, here they were again. Like a bad penny, this child. "Where are you going?"


C10-6b
"Don't you hear her crying? We can't leave her here alone. The lady said she was already attached
to him. And I think we can afford a sister. Every little boy should have a big sister to boss him around."

"Absolutely not. Take your son, Candy. You wanted him, take him."


C10-7
But she would not give in until he agreed to go see about that other brat.

"There, there. Stop your wailing. You won't even remember him tomorrow."

"Is this child bespoken?"

"Bespoken? Oh, 'fraid not, sir. But Girlie is the sweetest—"

"Yes, yes. My wife has a soft heart but another young child is out of the question. Let me have a look at her."


C10-8
"Well, I will give you a few names. It will be up to the two of you if you choose to follow through but it is
my understanding that desperate yet unsuccessful parents are extremely generous with their finders' fees."


~ ~ ~



C11-0
Candy walked in and peered into the empty crib herself. They were both gawking at her. She didn't know what to say.

C11-1
"Since you're all here, Hart family—"

"Not all of us."

"—time to meet the tie that binds."


C11-3
Rich handed him over and left the Harts to their reunion.

"So, let's see then."

"Baby boy," Candy said. "What'd yours end up being?"

"Uh, both girls," Rhett said, remembering she didn't know. "Proxy and Una."

"What's his name, Can?"

"Richie Rich."

Still in earshot, Rich sighed and shook his head.

"Named after his Pop." (That is, both of them.)

C11-4
Valentine couldn't get used to that idea yet. Or thinking that Lana's ex was his son-in-law now. But those eyes were surely Rich Mann grey.

"Almost forgot, I got gifts. I found you the coolest suit, like, you are gonna be the sharpest
dude around in this suit, you hear me. And other stuff, too, for you and Pop and Goldie."

"We should call Goldie now to come round. I know she's dyin' to see you. The both of you."

"Not today, Pop." Goldie was never coming here, no freakin' way, okay. "We just got back.
Not long before you showed up. We're not really settled in yet, for company and things."

"Your sister isn't company."

"Come on, Pop. Think she's tryin' to tell us to leave."

"Kinda. I mean, Rich is bein' real nice about it but you did kinda knock him out, so, you know..."

"Okay, Candy."


C11-5
"Promise, Pop. I'l bring the baby over to meet Goldie tomorrow."

"And Sandy and Proxy. They're living with us now."

"Say what? Rhett picked that old ass Sandy over Penny? No way."

"That's a long story. You do know it's a case of the pot pokin' fun at the kettle?"

She laughed. "Yeah. But I love him."

That was the first thing she said that Valentine completely believed and it made him incredibly sad.
"Look at that, the boy left his pot. Hey Rhett, come back here, you forgot something! Now, you sure you're okay?"

"Aces, Pop."

Aces? Either she'd picked up some new lingo or somethin' still wasn't right.


~ ~ ~


C12-0
It was early, only a handful or regulars at the tables, nobody on the machines.
Candy double-checked, there was nobody at the counter either. Maybe...maybe.


C12-1
Straight out the front doors. Why not? Worth a shot.

"Ms. M."

Crap.

C12-2
"Funny thing seeing a baby in the casino."

"We were goin' for a walk."

"Kinda cold outside."

"Yeah, I guess it is."

"C'mon, Ms. M. Why don't we take Junior—"

"Don't call him that."

C12-3
"Here. You take him...wherever. I'm-a go play some hold 'em. Or blackjack."

Seducing him was out of the question. She'd already tried it, a couple times. Nothin' doin'. He wasn't
gay either. She knew that for a fact But she couldn't crack him. None of them. In hindsight, Rich never would've
brought her here if she could. Fucking fortune sims. But she needed some kinda way to make her own fun.

C12-4
"Hey boys. What's doin'?"

Candy had become quite the card sharp.
"Aces, baby. Read 'em and weep."

C12-5
"Hey, there he is. 'Sup, Rich."

"Candy..." he started scolding but changed his tone.

C12-6
"Candy, do you really think it's appropriate entrusting a pit boss with the care of our son?"


C12-7
"What's the big deal? He looks fine, he doesn't stink. And you trust him with me."

"That most certainly is not true. There is no one I trust with you. But I don't need to trust them, I need to
trust you. You and Little Dick and I can all go home as soon as you prove to me that I can, Mrs. Mann."

He didn't understand why she wasn't pregnant yet. He suspected that wasn't
by accident but he was willing to give her the benefit of the doubt. For now.


~ ~ ~


C13-0
Lana could not contain herself when she got the news that Rich had installed his whore in their house as her replacement!
"Look at you. How long can you last? How long before he gets bored? This house and everything in it is mine. You'll see."

"No, this house and everything you see here, and everything you don't, belongs to my son," Candy told her,
"Don't matter what kinda tricks you try to get him back. You can't make another one."

But she could. When she got good and damn well ready, and not before then. You don't play your trump card unless you
have to, to stay in the game, or when it's gonna make you win it. That's one thing Candy learned on her 'honeymoon'.

She wasn't even listening when Lana started slinging the insults. Tramp? Whatever. She's heard worse.
"Yeah, okay. But if I'm a tramp then what the hell are you? His soulmate or somethin'?
Get real, Lana. A tiger don't change its stripes. Ain't that right, D.D.? Yes."

"That cat! Get that cat away from me."

"She lives here. You don't. So you can get yourself off our property. See ya!"


C13-1
This was not over.
But Lana had no patience for that spoiled brat. She would get what was coming to her. Time to strike at the Hart.

Candy scooped up D.D. before she pounced. "We don't need to bother 'bout that mean old ugly lady runnin' her mouth."

"Ugly!"
Lana came running back while Candy was bent over tossing the cat back inside.
Ugly! Who the hell was she calling ugly! Little upstart—

C13-2
bitch!


C13-3
Rich hopped up the steps, amused to have arrived home in time to witness such fun.

"Lana, lovely to see you, as always. Hello, my sweet," he said, staying Candy's fist with a touch of
his hand, "I do admire how determined you are to defy my warning about trespassing. Good show."

"Save it, Rich."

"But I caution you to seriously think twice before assaulting my wife."

C13-4
"There now," he said, massaging out any dents to the assets.

Lana couldn't believe he stood there groping the girl right in front of her!

"That spit-polished trophy you have the audacity to parade around this town as the new Mrs. Mann
deserved a swift kick in the ass. You do, too. I only hope I live to see the day someone delivers it to you!"

"Go home, Lana. Now."

"Oh, I'm going."
But she would be back to claim what was rightfully hers, one day, one way or another.


C13-5
"Where is the child, Candy?" Rich yelled out.

She shrugged at herself. "Nursery, I guess!"

"No, he isn't!"

"Then I don't fucking know," she said under her breath.


C13-6
"Did you feed him today?"

"Of course, I fed him."

"More than once? If you remembered to feed him at least every time you got hungry that might be a good rule of thumb."

"Thanks for the tip, Rich."

All that hoopla, just for the principle of the thing! She would've gotten over not having him. But...but perhaps not.

C13-7
"Don't get too used to this coddling, Little Dick, you. I am not fooled by those grey eyes,
you will have a brother and he will be the true heir. So don't you get too comfortable."


C13-8
Rich wasn't too worried that she still wasn't pregnant. A whole lot more than half the fun was in the trying!

~

Thanks for reading!




No room, credits in comments:-)


 
 
( Post a new comment )
[identity profile] quinndominion.livejournal.com on June 13th, 2014 01:59 am (UTC)
NOTES
A lot going on here, I'm about a thousand characters under LJ's hard limit but apparently that's too close for comfort. I could publish, as is, but whenever I'm this close I can't edit, not even to take words away, so any typos and that missing word I spotted just are what they are.

Not much in the way of resolution! More like drifting, interlocking montages of what happened with Candy. And I'm no builder (though some of the 'stages' are heavily remodelled) so I wanted to be sure and cobble together a credit list for all the places that Rich took her. The Flamingo will almost certainly make more appearances once the rest of the Widespot folks have access to subhoods, too, and possibly the Foundlings Home, which is Leefish's Simton Town Office at MTS (http://modthesims.info/download.php?t=453748) but whether the others will fit with an organic development of the town, I don't know yet. I was originally determined that the casino be the Gomorrah, also found at MTS (http://modthesims.info/download.php?t=506916), but whenever I thought I finally, definitely had the master meshes the arches and windows kept flashing. That's how I ended up at TSR and the mobster-ish vibe of Bugsy's Las Vegas Flamingo lot (http://www.thesimsresource.com/downloads/details/category/sims2-lots-business-home/title/bugsys-las-vegas-flamingo/id/731272/) clinched it. There was the Boutique Prada (http://modthesims.info/download.php?t=220237) and Oceanside Shopping Gallery (http://www.thesimsresource.com/downloads/details/category/sims2-lots-community-Shops/title/oceanside-shopping-gallery--no-cc/id/1084082/), where they shopped and ate and swanned off without paying. And the more austere half of the Time Warp Boutiqe (http://modthesims.info/download.php?t=503211) at MTS is where they got married. I think that's it!

Also this:
Image (http://s1284.photobucket.com/user/Quinndom/media/Outtakes/BabyfaceMalone_zpse33430c2.jpg.html)
He got edited out but he's the croupier that randomly spawned from my miscellaneous template replacements and I kind of love him. Whatever naming mod I've got in gave him a perfectly serviceable name but I call him Babyface Malone. When he's not scowling you'd never suspect that he's a cutthroat S.O.B.!

Edited 2014-06-13 04:53 pm (UTC)
(Reply) (Link)
[identity profile] peni griffin on June 13th, 2014 03:58 am (UTC)
Holey cheese. I'm not any less scared. And I don't think Valentine is, either. But Candy's more scared than any of us, and not just for her. It occurred to me when she first went with him, that she was afraid of what would happen if she kicked up a fuss and Pop came storming in with no idea what kind of fight he was about to get into; and now I'm sure of it. She's lying to Rich to protect herself; she's lying to her family to protect them. "Goldie was never coming here, no freaking way, okay -" Candy doesn't care about too many people, but Goldie surely tops the list!

Trying to go back for the toddler girl surprised me. I wonder when and where and with who we'll see her again - not many "desperate yet unsuccessful" would-be parents around Widespot!

Much to process. See you in the morning, probably.
[identity profile] quinndominion.livejournal.com on June 13th, 2014 08:03 am (UTC)
Turns out Candy's more complicated than she looks. Who knew? Could be just because her situation is. She's not an attentive mother, she's always handing the baby over as soon as he winds up in her arms (even back to his kidnapper) but she wouldn't be okay without a basic belief in his well-being. There is a lot working against her maternal instinct: personality, her position, plus the birth was kind of traumatic for her and she might even subconsciously blame him for her predicament. But what on earth would she have done with a needy toddler if she could've talked Rich into adopting a sister for Richie Rich? Candy just gets caught up in her moments. (I don't know how or who it could be but I had to leave some sort of leeway for a saga of Baby Boy and Girlie. Might be useful that, story-wise, she isn't in Widespot.) Also, key to a lot of what happened is the fact that Candy does have real feelings for Rich, even if the most predominant one is fear. It wasn't only the hair and clothes that kept her in character, it was his presence exerting an influence on her. Left on her own, it was like crashing back down to earth and she remembered what her situation really was.

Candy's definitely still got some convincing to do with her family and keeping Goldie at bay may not be as easy as she thinks. She actually did her very first walkby at the house right after Candy mentally banned her!
[identity profile] peni griffin on June 13th, 2014 08:54 pm (UTC)
Well, of what sim is it not true that she's more complicated than she looks?

I don't like to judge people, but after a close re-read I think it's fair to say Candy's a danger freak. It's easy to look at her and Rich and think "Daddy issues," but Rich's complete lack of any genuine tenderness to put the brakes on his behavior makes him a kind of anti-Pop. You don't expect someone with as few active points as Candy to be an adrenaline junkie, but there she is. No wonder she keeps handing off the baby - just being in the same house as Rich, ready to dance on her tightrope at any moment, must wear her out.

Maybe that's the reason she wanted Girlie. Candy doesn't perform for women, so maybe she wanted somebody in the house she could relax around. But of course she wouldn't have been able to. And now she'll have to lie to Goldie, and what do you want to bet that doesn't come as easily as lying to Pop and Rhett? Goldie knows Candy like nobody else, realized she was missing almost the moment she was gone, and moreover is developing that photographer's eye for detail - no way she won't smell a rat. But in the end - what can any of them do, until and unless Candy chooses to get off the ride for good? Candy (and Lana) are the only ones with any clue about just how bad Rich can be; if she decides to get out, she'll have to be the one making the plan.

I expect the current plan is just to outlive him. But Rich is too mean to die natural. And if he did, where would she get her adrenaline fix? She'll have to learn to pace herself if she's going to outlast him.

I'm not surprised this installment took as long as it did and am a little impressed it didn't take longer. If you had to build a vacation hood, and find all the specific downloads, lots and props and things (I see what you did with the cardboard box there...), and actually send Candy and Rich on vacation, that's a lot more work all by itself than just playing and staging with the existing neighborhood. No wonder you were tired!
[identity profile] quinndominion.livejournal.com on June 15th, 2014 08:36 am (UTC)
That, of course, depends entirely on the simmer :-)

For myself, aside from a handful of favourites, I never got attached to TS3 sims; the puddings were never quite “people” to me like my TS1 and TS2 pixels so their behaviour read more as mechanistic. And, just thinking out loud here, the game does lend itself to stock characterisation (and situation comedies). So Rich, for example, as “the villain”: is he bad just because he is—in the manner of 'he's got no nice points, what'd you expect!'—or is there a psychological history at work reinforcing the way he makes decisions? Ironically perhaps, it's partly Rich's sense of his own complexity that led him to pigeon-hole Candy as a "pure personality", simple and single-minded in pursuit of her inventive but far less intensive goals. While he certainly isn't responsible for creating all the nooks and crannies in her psyche, he's got no one to blame but himself for forcing them to surface.

I love the idea of Rich as the anti-Pop! That he definitely is. Candy's attraction to the danger that is Rich is one of the things I cut as an explicit reference but is, definitely, an impression I was hoping would still come across. Rich capitalises on that and on her sense of fun; she's more use to him as a playmate than as a prisoner but also getting her “in on it” (without actually becoming privy to anything that might really compromise him) is a way for him to maintain control.

I decided against the vacation hood because I wanted the casino more easily accessible later on so I just loaded up one of the terrains I'd earmarked for neighbouring town/business district and threw the lots in there. I also play ahead so the delay was down to real life interrupting. The most time consuming part is always organising the pictures. Even though this is one of the few that's actually confined to what happened when I played their lot, it was a very busy rotation.

It's also the one I had in mind when I mentioned how Rich is able to control his aggression (which ultimately makes him more dangerous) but Lana isn't. And it's why she might soon be in need of an ally, perhaps particularly one in the Hart household, like Sandy, because Valentine will not be pleased when he learns of this altercation with Candy. Kicking his daughter is bad enough, but kicking her when she's down! Lana can't see it that way since Candy stole her life but this will not go over well.
[identity profile] peni griffin on June 19th, 2014 01:29 am (UTC)
I didn't think hotels would work outside vacation neighborhoods? (If you would at some time like to use Bigg City, or some of the lots in it, as a downtown let me know. I have the infrastructure built and playtested, but the project is stalled out on my not feeling like sorting out the quarrel between my new computer and Any Game Starter. Which is almost as complicated as the sudden quarrel between LJ and all my ID sources.)

If Rich were wise, he would have stayed and observed how Candy played her Pop; but I notice she waited till his back was turned before she started in on it. That would seem to indicate that she's not operating purely on instinct and habit - the first thing I thought when she started in with the sports gestures was "Oh, she's done this before! She knows just how to disarm him!" - but is consciously strategizing under a facade of spontaneity. She needs to manipulate Rich for her own sake and everyone else's, so she doesn't need him to figure out how good she is at it.

Although Candy's mothering style is consistent across games, she has some good solid reasons to neglect Richie in this specific instance, so I'll provisionally give her the benefit. The most obvious one is the same as her reason for not wanting Goldie in the house: if she makes a misstep and displeases Rich, she wants the consequences to fall on her, not on anyone she loves. And Rich is smart enough to know that and to use any affection toward Richie he detects in her against her. The kid's already on thin ice due to the doubt about his parentage. But Candy also presumably figured out back when Goldie was a toddler that caretaking precedes love - so if he looks after the baby, logically, he will love it. She needs him to be invested in Richie, and to believe that she is less invested than he is, to give the kid his best shot.

Of course, she saw Rich throw Junior out; but her own experience might well lead her to rely on the strength of paternal love anyway, just as seeing a plane take flight doesn't cause us to lose faith in gravity. She might also reason that her kid is bound to be superior to Lana's and will grow up to make him proud rather than contemptuous. (It's only logical!) Or maybe Rich will kick off before he has a chance to be disappointed. But if she's hoping handling the baby will mellow him out, rub off the extreme edges and keep him at the level of danger she likes rather than going overboard with the locking up and baby-threatening and stuff - I'm afraid she's in for disillusionment. But I can't deny it's worth a shot.

As for Lana - oh, dear. If she ever figures out that Valentine turning cold to her is down to women who are more important to him than she is, that will hit her right where she lives! I'm afraid she's not likely to draw the moral "I should be nicer to women" from it, either! I ought to feel more sympathetic to Lana - after all, the great love of her life traded her in for a younger model - but she is so selfish, even where she does love, that I'm not making progress. She needs to stop relying on manipulating men into giving her what she wants, and learn to act directly. But I'm afraid the satisfaction of successful manipulation is part of what she wants.

It looks like Valentine will wind up being faithful to Daytona by default from here forward. Take all the fertile women off the menu, that only leaves Beulah, Daytona, Lana, and Dora. Lana's out on two counts now. I doubt Beulah was ever on that menu - even if she didn't have a triple-bolt husband and a strict moral code, she'd still be Mary's mother, so squick, plus he is visibly sick of hurting Mary! He probably could land Dora if he exerted himself, but that'd be stupid, given who he'd be competing with.

Though I suddenly think that Val, judiciously used, makes a reasonable goad for Dora to bring Skye up to snuff with...that'd all be from her end, though. I can't see Valentine risking his Una time to take any active part in such a thing. So it looks like, until and unless some gray-haired groupies start finding their way into the Dugout, Daytona's got the field to herself. Which would mean that at least one person can take satisfaction in the events of this update, though she doesn't know it.

Edited 2014-06-19 04:03 am (UTC)
[identity profile] quinndominion.livejournal.com on June 21st, 2014 10:33 pm (UTC)
Yep, they work outside vacation hoods (with Inge's financial system you can even own them, I believe Haven't tried that yet but I had plans to introduce a new character and an owned B&B that got scrapped, maybe next round). I've got regular hotels and motels strewn about in other hoods; the bellhop and maid spawn and you can check into a room or rooms and will be charged, no problem. But in Widespot it was different, the hotel part worked but no one else showed up. I think it's probably a function of population as they definitely do elsewhere. I'm not sure if tourists occasionally take over the other rooms or not but I know townies/downtownies/playables definitely mill about the lot and they didn't here. It worked out because I didn't want any of the residents or truckers hanging around so I teleported in some of my standby townies (and randomly spawned some others for the non-casino scenes, meaning they almost certainly won't look the same whenever they next appear—save perhaps the two sisters of mercy, or as Rich may have influenced them to become, the sisters of mercenary mercy, oh and Peach Treason who was created on purpose and currently hovers between playable and townie status depending on whether Rich decides to hire a monitor/live-in maid for Candy).

Rich took a calculated risk leaving Candy alone with her family, except of course that she'd been rehearsed already. Not the words, he didn't feed her lines, because being or seeming like her own was part of the point. And he didn't bring her back until he was convinced that she had internalised “the rules” as it were, enough to police herself. Rich isn't likely to feel threatened by a Hart, not even when his face connected with Valentine's fist (the bat would've been another issue) but he doesn't want them taking too pointed an interest in his affairs. It must appear that Candy chose him freely and that, on the whole, she didn't make a bad choice. He was impressed by how easily the lie came to her lips, which might later come back to bite her, but that was Candy's calculated risk.

Richie's not in the worst position; if I'm remembering right I think his personality spread puts him into the overachiever category or on the cusp, enough for Rich to take him in hand and mold himself a son. So long as Candy continues to 'resist impregnation', which will reflect poorly on Rich's barely acknowledged worries about his diminished virility, Richie's place is that much more secure if Rich becomes inclined to embrace him as proof against any notion of impotence. It is possible, just possible, that Rich might end up psyching himself out. And, for all intents and purposes, he is Richie's father, even in the family tree, because he adopted him.

Lana, ah, Lana. It's hard to feel sympathy for her but, on the other hand, she didn't cause any of the trouble that led to her new circumstances. That's probably what smarts most of all, she didn't even have any of the fun! She was loyal to Rich but she's the one who was expendable to him. If it hadn't happened, she'd never have believed it possible. On the Valentine front she will lose again and even her back-up “beau”, Rich's “head contractor” not only isn't terribly interested but is more interested in Sandy! A lot more, but none of this is prompting her toward learning any lesson. Plans may not pan out in gameplay but I do have some ideas for Lana...

As for grey-haired groupies, I originally thought perhaps Riverblossom would become the business district someday and while I nixed that idea it's been in the back of my mind to extract Catherine Viejo and Betty Goldstein (and probably their departed friend, Andrew's mother—I can't remember her name even though she's alive and well in my uberhood), making them slightly younger and out for a good time. There's also another single elderly lady (or two) that I'll probably introduce soon, she for the B&B, so Val will have options. Daytona won't be in the clear. As for Dora, I will say that she is attracted to Valentine, and it hasn't escaped her notice that Skye's a mite jealous of him but it's a fine line to walk between arousing him without also arousing insecurities about his inexperience, especially if she were to use Valentine Hart as ammunition.
[identity profile] quinndominion.livejournal.com on June 22nd, 2014 02:54 am (UTC)
Character limits
Oh hell, I came up against LJ character limits again so I'm not going to try an edit but I didn't see that I cut the first bit. I'd love to have Bigg City on hand! I don't know when a downtown will be unlocked but I am going to modify the rules; with my shorter rounds and taxes scaled down to accommodate them it'd just take forever to get to half a million simoleons or whatever it is. But whenever they're ready, no longer being an insular community will definitely shift the dynamics.
[identity profile] peni griffin on June 22nd, 2014 02:42 pm (UTC)
Re: Character limits
Yeah, way too early for a downtown, both under BACC rules and in terms of the story. If escape is easy, the pressure lets up. Send me an e-mail address (mine is penigriffin@gmail.com) and I'll get AGS working so I can make sure the infrastructure-only version has all the final edits on the buildings and send it to you in the near future, so you have plenty of time to figure out what you want to change for use. It's BG+NL only, so has some of the same sketchy quality as the original Widespot infrastructure. Or I could send you a version populated with sims intended for the graveyards, which I know has the updated infrastructure because I was using the graveyard-bait to test the rebuilds. You can always kill them yourself or turn them into townies. (But one is a full alien, noseless and bug-eyed.)

I'm trying to sympathize with Lana. I am. It's just not working! Laying out the bare bones of her situation, it's a sad one, whatever bad things she may be assumed to have done - but the moment she herself enters the picture I lose it. That makes her more interesting, though. And of course she's pivotal for Junior. At the moment, he benefits more than he's torn by his position as buffer between his wife and mother - but at some point, they will come into conflict in a way he can't not notice (despite his supreme capacity to not notice things) and should not ignore. And that's when we'll find out who he really is.

It wouldn't be surprising if Dora, for all her obvious experience and people-savvy, made some serious missteps with Skye, based on her reasonable but false assumptions. She has no idea of the depths of his inexperience, after all! She thinks he fathered Penny and Woody "the conventional way," which means there is or was a mother somewhere, which is obviously too painful to talk about for some reason and may be behind his present state of hard-to-get. A lot depends on what she deduces happened there. Her logical course is to milk Penny (too hard to make Woody talk), who presumably is an old hand at deflection on this topic. If Penny's cover story implies an affair, using Val to try to make him jealous would be far too risky; but if it implies that her mother is dead, she might decide some competition would be good for him. (And potentially fun for her.)

I doubt Candy's worried about her lies to her family coming back to bite her. Worst comes to worst, they won't bite her so hard she can't bear it. The Harts screwed up a lot as parents, judging by results; but they did Unconditional Love right. Look at her in the casino, considering calling Pop because he'd find her regardless; deciding against it because rescue isn't safe (for him; the risks, to herself, of escape she considers acceptable). Whatever the aftermath of the Hot Tub Dome Scandal did to their relationship, however much fussing he does about j-o-bs and responsibility and stuff, however much he yells at Rhett or scolds her, Home will always be there. A nice safe background for exciting danger games, and something to protect when the line from game to all-too-real gets crossed.

Rich's love, of course, is nothing but conditional. Her only advantage, and I hope she's got a good grip on it, is that she understands him better than he understands her. He has always relied on other people being nicer than him, and probably seldom been disappointed. Val wasn't really going to use the bat, which constitutes lethal force given the power he can presumably put into a swing, as long as he didn't see an imminent physical threat to Candy, so Rich could afford to take the hit. (I wonder what he thinks happened at the Hot Tub Dome?) Candy's already considered opportunistically killing Rich once, and dismissed the possibility, first as too risky and second as farther than she's willing to go. But Rich could change both those conditions, which he now takes for granted. He thinks he has her sussed. I don't think he does.
[identity profile] quinndominion.livejournal.com on June 22nd, 2014 09:07 pm (UTC)
Re: Character limits
Ooh, populated. Yes, please. The city will need denizens, after all. I've just shot you an email.

Lana was ambitious and more or less in sync with Rich but she loved their son and had no reason whatsoever not to show it (in her way) and Rich certainly did come to use that against her. I don't know if Candy could consciously sustain a program of motherly indifference if it were against her nature; if her heart ached to hug her baby to her she'd hug him, but so far Candy doesn't ever even accidentally bond with the baby. There's a mini-scene I couldn't work back around to, though I wanted to show Richie Rich in his new, settled-in duds. Rich has placed the baby's bouncy facing exactly where Candy is to be found most often, in front of the tv, and he's bouncing up and down, riveted to Candy, and she looks back at him like “what do you want from me, kid? I've done my best to save your neck, the rest is up to you.” Doomsday comes along to watch tv and when Candy finally gets up it's to autonomously play with the cat—although that could be interpreted as a re-direction so that she doesn't get caught up even when Rich isn't around. I am so intrigued to see how Richie grows up and processes this family he's been born into, especially if he or anyone ever learns that his brother is his biological father, a revelation that might come sooner or later depending on how he looks.

Candy can't be honestly surprised that her Pop was willing to go to bat for her, they've been here before. And Val firmly believes that you don't make a threat you aren't, at least, willing to fulfil, which is also why you don't pick up a weapon unless you know how to wield it. Hence his line that Rhett didn't cook. Val knew exactly what his could do and what he could do with it, Rhett simply grabbed the first thing he found but he didn't even have a rudimentary familiarity with it so in a real scuffle not only would he most likely lose the upper hand but the weapon he introduced to the mêlée would be there to be turned against him! Candy knew that much, she left that shard of glass right where it was because she also knew her enemy. The Hart kids led a privileged existence so Rhett is forgiven for being more naïve than he realises. Candy's got more real-world experience because she went looking for it but it could be precisely because she wasn't embedded in “the real world” that her teenage self had no way of sifting out what was “real” and exciting and what was just plain wrong. She spent her life around adults, a certain class of adults, and emulating their excesses was a disaster waiting to happen.

The problem is that even her parents kind of took her at face value, she seemed fine, she could charm the pants off of their friends...they just didn't expect her (or anyone in their circle) to make that so literal, but they forgot to tell her not to. I don't doubt that Angel worked in some serious mother-daughter talks but she was more inclined to honour her daughter's budding sexuality and in her determination to ward off any sense of shame (like she probably grew up defending against) she neglected to reinforce a sense of boundaries. Protecting Goldie is kind of like the Hart family code but another layer for Candy is the fact that she wasn't protected (from) herself. However, she doesn't blame either of her parents, (Val's guilt is between him and his conscience); mostly because her past to her was only maybe a mistake—all that stuff with her Pop and the press, she regrets that stuff, but not necessarily what she did...maybe where she did it. Anyway (to her mind) Goldie's different. She knows now that Goldie has got her first boyfriend (a proper boyfriend, like she likely never had) but Candy is bound to be a little hurt if she learns that when it comes to David she's not who her little sister is inclined to turn to for advice.
[identity profile] peni griffin on June 23rd, 2014 03:10 pm (UTC)
Re: Character limits
It is amazing how much younger our kid siblings are at 16 than we were at the same age, isn't it? (And our children, nieces, nephews, students - whoosh! They're babies!) Something that probably hasn't occurred to Candy, and won't hit Goldie till she sees her sister, is that her running off without a word will have changed their relationship quite a bit. Goldie was the one agitating to go out actively looking for her, who knew something was wrong. Having Candy turn up playing like everything is fine won't sit well, whether or not Goldie buys the act, especially in light of the contrast between the older kids' perennial freedom to make mistakes and the way everybody shelters Goldie.

Who would Goldie turn to for advice about David, if not Candy, though? Pop's too overprotective, it's hard to picture Rhett providing anything but bad relationship advice, Mary's avoiding the house, Mama's dead, and she has no friends her own age. That just leaves Junior, which is hard to picture. Perhaps we'll find out in the upcoming Ottomas update.

Yeah, Candy has the maternal instinct of a sea turtle. The egg got buried, the ocean's right there, she did her job! Which is another reason for her to want Rich to bond with Richie - the more satisfied he is with the son he's got, the less insistent he'll be about her producing another one. It is a shame you couldn't fit in the bit with Richie and Doomsday - maybe it can still find a place. It's awful when you've got something, perfect in itself, that doesn't fit anywhere.

I wonder how Junior'll react to finding out that even his name's been co-opted. And what the knock-on effect of the screwed-up-ness of his relationship with his parents will be on his relationship with the twins. Plus he's the only person anywhere who actually owes Lana loyalty, but she can no more be trusted with it than Rich can. So far he's been able to ignore the tension between the women in his house. The moment it escalates past that point will be his defining one.
[identity profile] katee412.livejournal.com on June 14th, 2014 05:19 am (UTC)
Wow, once again I've gone from laughing (sure Candy, check under the bed) to being horrified. An excellent update :)
[identity profile] quinndominion.livejournal.com on June 15th, 2014 09:07 am (UTC)
Why, thank you :-D (You mean he couldn't have rolled down there? You sure?) I laughed out loud when she went through the boxing and baseball animations talking to her Pop after the fight but only once Rich started walking away. It wasn't how I figured that scene would progress but she defused some of the tension.
[identity profile] braxen.livejournal.com on June 20th, 2014 10:03 am (UTC)
Coming in late, as per usual, I've had my focus elsewhere (fanfiction) for a while.
What a great chapter! Your narrating keeps getting better for each update, this time it felt like watching a movie; all those elaborate sets and jumps in the time-line - fantastic! Great pics as always.
The relation between Candy and Rich is a bit scary, it gives me the creeps really, so I hope that is intentional. It gave me the creeps when Rich took the baby away as well, so I was very relieved to see him back again.
[identity profile] quinndominion.livejournal.com on June 21st, 2014 11:26 pm (UTC)
:-D Thank you! I was really committed to this structure for the last part so I'm glad that it worked, especially because it relies mainly on costuming to signal the transitions.

Rich and Candy are definitely not the model of a healthy relationship, that's for sure. Creeped out, sad for Candy, angry with Candy, worried for the baby--they're all on the spectrum of effects. But I'd be concerned about anyone left rooting for Rich!

Also wanted to say that one of your Sunnydale updates is responsible for Richie Rich's other name, that is, Little Dick. I think it's Cordelia's kid with the mayor, a perfectly reasonable nickname (once upon a time) but it was one of those 'duh' moments for me, like of course that's what Rich would call him.
[identity profile] braxen.livejournal.com on June 23rd, 2014 06:27 am (UTC)
Oh - I'm flattered that Little Dick Wilkins provided inspiration. :D

And yes - someone rooting for Rich, that would be scary indeed. He makes such a splendid villain though. ;)